1. Home»
  2. News»
  3. Match Reports»
  4. Match Report: M 2 – Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Match Report

CLT20 Desk in Mumbai

Match Report: M 2 – Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders

DD seamers demolish KKR batters to seal comprehensive win

In a line-up consisting of some of the most powerful strikers of the cricket ball in modern-day cricket, it took an impressive innings from a 19-year-old to set up the match for the Delhi Daredevils. After being put in to bat, the Daredevils posted 160 for seven – thanks mainly to Unmukt Chand’s impressive 40. They then restricted the Kolkata Knight Riders to 108 for seven to register a thumping 52-run victory.

Despite a quiet first over, the Delhi Daredevils recovered well to get to 36 after five overs. Skipper Mahela Jayawardene hit four boundaries, while Virender Sehwag helped himself to two hits. Mystery bowler Sunil Narine, introduced into the attack in the sixth over, struck for the Kolkata Knight Riders when he pegged back Jayawardene’s off stump with his first delivery. The DD skipper made 21 off 19 balls, while Sehwag, who was caught behind off the bowling of Pradeep Sangwan, made 22 from 17 balls.

Kevin Pietersen walked in to bat at No.3 and was put down twice – both times by Manvinder Bisla off the bowling of Narine. However Pietersen couldn’t capitalize on his good fortune and would soon be dismissed for 14. With DD at 64 for three at the half-way mark, KKR certainly held the edge.

But the teenager Unmukt Chand and Ross Taylor wrested back the advantage with a 63-run partnership. Chand, who led India to victory in the Under-19 World Cup recently, timed the ball well from the word go. He played some handsome strokes in his 27-ball knock; after getting off the mark with a sweetly timed extra cover drive, the teenager also hit three other boundaries and two sixes – including a massive hit over midwicket and a cut over point. Taylor too played a useful hand and scored the bulk of his runs on the leg side. After hitting Balaji for a six and a four off consecutive deliveries, an attempt to dispatch him over square leg yet again landed in the hands of the man on the boundary. He was dismissed for 36.

Chand too would go after Balaji in the same over; he upper-cut Balaji for a six over cover and then followed it up with boundaries through thirdman and fine leg. DD would score 30 runs from that particular over from Balaji – the 17th of the innings. Despite a collapse at the end, when they lost Chand and three other wickets in three overs, the Delhi Daredevils had done well to get to 160 for eight.

Sunil Narine was the pick of the KKR bowlers; he returned with figures of three for 21 from his four overs. Brett Lee (1-19) and Jacques Kallis (1-25) too bowled economically, while L Balaji came in for a lot of stick; he would concede 61 runs in his four overs.

KKR had a horror start to their run-chase when they lost skipper Gautam Gambhir and Manvinder Bisla in the first over. It became worse when Brendon McCullum was dismissed in the following over and when Jacques Kallis was forced to retire hurt after being struck on the index finger of the bottom hand. The scores of the top four batsmen would read 1, 0, 0 and 0. When Yusuf Pathan dragged one onto his stumps at the end of the fifth over, DD had knocked the wind out of the run-chase.

Manoj Tiwary and Rajat Bhatia tried to resuscitate the innings, but they clearly had a mountain of runs to score and too few deliveries in which to get them. Both batsmen were dismissed attempting to take on the bowlers; Tiwary made 33 and Bhatia made 22. KKR would eventually finish their twenty overs at 108 for seven.

The Delhi Daredevils seamers were lethal on the Centurion Park track, which offered lateral movement and where the bounce was uneven. It was good to see Irfan Pathan swing the ball and bend the back into the right-hander; he would finish with figures of two for 20 from his four overs. Morne Morkel (2-25) bowled quick and was able to extract sharp bounce from the pitch, while Umesh Yadav (2-13) and Ajit Agarkar (1-21) got the ball to skid off the track.

Brief Scores: Delhi Daredevils 160-8 in 20 overs (Unmukt Chand 40, Ross Taylor 36, Sunil Narine 3-21, L Balaji 2-61) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 108-7 in overs 20 (Manoj Tiwary 33, Rajat Bhatia 26, Umesh Yadav 2-13, Irfan Pathan 2-20, Morne Morkel 2-25)

Man of the Match: Irfan Pathan, for his bowling spell of two for 19, which included the wickets of Gautam Gambhir and Manvinder Bisla in the first over.

Fans Discussion

Founding Members Media Rights Holders Title Sponsor Associate Sponsor Umpire Sponsor